Your Defense. Your Lawyer.
DUI/DWI Attorney in Branson
Arrested for Drunk Driving in the Ozarks? Call (417) 216-6563
Being arrested for drunk driving can lead to some serious legal consequences. In Missouri, a first-time offense can potentially result in 6 months in the county jail, fines, and the suspension of your license for 30 days. You could also be forced to perform community service, attend alcohol treatment classes, and other penalties, even if you didn’t cause an accident or injure someone.
Whether you are a first-time offender or facing a new charge with prior offenses, we at Ozark Mountain Attorney understand how to navigate both the criminal and administrative license suspension systems. We can help you understand the State’s evidence against you and assist in your decision to take a charge to trial or in negotiating a plea to keep these serious alcohol traffic-related offenses off your criminal record. We have also assisted many people in the reinstatement of their driving privileges after license suspensions due to prior offenses.
If you were arrested and charged with drunk driving, you need a reliable Branson DUI attorney in your corner. Call Ozark Mountain Attorney today at (417) 216-6563 or contact us online to schedule an initial consultation. Se habla español.
Experienced DUI Lawyers in Branson
At Ozark Mountain Attorney, we understand that nobody is perfect and that sometimes bad things can happen to good people. If you had too much to drink and got behind the wheel, you made a mistake, but that doesn’t mean you should have your future totally ruined.
The penalties for DUI/DWI offenses are serious, even if it’s your first time facing criminal charges. You could be subject to jail time. If it’s your second or third offense, the stakes are higher and the punishments are harsher. It can be a scary and confusing time for you, which is why you need to speak with a qualified and experienced DUI attorney immediately.
Our legal team has nearly two decades of experience, and in that time, we’ve served numerous DUI clients. We are not afraid to challenge the prosecution’s case and take things to trial to lessen the punishment or even dismiss your case. It is up to the prosecutor to prove beyond reasonable doubt that you are guilty and we will do all we can to give you the best chance of clearing your name.
DUI Penalties in Missouri
The punishments you may receive in Missouri depend on the circumstances of your arrest, if you have any previous convictions, what your blood alcohol content (BAC) was, if you had an accident that resulted in death or injury, and other factors.
If you are arrested for driving with a blood alcohol content of .08 percent or higher, you could face:
First-time DUI offense
- Up to six months in prison
- Fine of up to $500
- Revoked license for 30 days
- Followed by 60 days of restricted driving privileges
Second DUI offense
- Up to 1 year in prison
- Fine of up to $1,000
- Revoked license for 1 year
Third and subsequent offenses
- Deemed a “persistent”, “aggravated”, or “chronic” offender
- Four to 15 years in prison
- Fine up to $5,000
Aside from these consequences, the State of Missouri can order the installation of an ignition interlock device. Drivers under 21 will be required to complete a substance abuse program and other penalties.
Drug DUI Offenses
In Missouri, a person can be charged for DWI not just from alcohol, but also illegal drugs, prescription medication, over-the-counter medications, and more. If you have drugs in your system, no matter how recently they were consumed or whether you were impaired at all by them while driving, you could be found guilty. The punishments for drugged driving are largely the same as the consequences for drunk driving.
If you have been charged with a DWI in Branson, it’s imperative to consult with an experienced criminal defense attorney to build a strong case. If you had a prescription for the drugs, we could use that as your defense against the charges. Our team at Ozark Mountain Attorney will carefully investigate the circumstances of the traffic stop and arrest, as well as any chemical testing that was conducted to determine they were down lawfully and appropriately.
What to Do When You’ve Been Pulled Over for DUI
While you never know when you may be stopped by police for driving under the influence, it helps to know what to do ahead of time so you can avoid the heavy consequences that may come with an arrest.
Keep these tips in mind during a traffic stop:
- Remain calm: As stressful and tense as interactions with law enforcement may be, by staying relaxed and cooperative, you may benefit from possibly being let go. Remember that being pulled over does not mean an automatic arrest, and an arrest doesn’t automatically mean a conviction.
- Be respectful: The more cooperative and respectful you are during a stop, the better it will go for you. Communicate with the officers clearly in a non-threatening tone. Show them where your hands are at all times and inform them of any movements you make ahead of time (going into the glovebox, etc.)
- Refuse field sobriety tests: You are within your rights to refuse to step out of your car to participate in field sobriety tests. These tests are highly subjective and can be unfairly conducted and reviewed.
- Agree to chemical testing: Breath, blood, and urine testing – also called chemical testing –are a must to take if they ask as refusal can result in a suspended license. You will have to be taken to the station to submit the test.
If you are arrested under suspicion of a DUI, you should exercise your right to remain silent and get in touch with us as soon as you get a chance. Our team at Ozark Mountain Attorney can help you understand your rights and determine the next steps to take to contest the charges.
Schedule a Consultation Today
Our Ozark Mountain Attorney Joe Allen has experience handling thousands of DUI cases all over the Ozarks region. We can answer any questions you may have about your case and know what it takes to minimize the consequences you face. Let us help you navigate the complicated court process and avoid as many penalties as possible. You can have peace of mind that our Branson DUI attorneys will represent you with vigor and determination so you can get through this difficult time and get your life back on track.
Discuss your case with us by dialing (417) 216-6563 or contacting us online. Hablamos español.