Your Defense. Your Lawyer.
Assault Attorney in Branson
Aggressive Defense Against Assault Charges for Clients in the Ozarks
When an argument results in people coming to blows, the police will soon arrive to make arrests. If you or someone you know got swept up in an altercation, you may end up facing criminal assault charges, which can carry heavy penalties. If convicted, you could receive a permanent stain on your record which can hinder your future career and educational aspirations, make it hard to secure housing, and become an obstacle in the way of other life opportunities. The stakes are high if found guilty, which is why such a situation requires the knowledge and skills of an experienced Ozark Mountain Attorney.
Our seasoned assault attorneys in Branson can give you the legal support you need during this difficult time. With over 17+ years of experience, we can help you navigate the complexities of your case through the justice system all while relentlessly fighting for your rights so you are judged fairly. Our goal is to secure a favorable outcome. With a proven track record of successfully resolving numerous cases for our clients, you can trust us with your case from beginning to end.
Discuss your case by scheduling a consultation with one of our Branson assault attorneys. You can call (417) 216-6563 or complete our online form. Se habla español.
Assault Charges in Missouri
By definition, assault is any intentional act that causes another person to fear physical harm. Examples include verbal threats, threatening someone with a weapon, threatening gestures, or an unsuccessful attempt to strike someone. Actually carrying out an act of violence is defined as battery. However, in the state of Missouri, the law encompasses both the threats of violence and actual acts of violence under assault divided into four different degrees, all of which are varying classes of felony or misdemeanor.
- First-degree assault: Attempting to kill or cause injury to another person. This is a Class B felony which can be upgraded to a class A if a “special victim” is involved. The penalty for conviction can include a prison sentence between 5 to 15 years.
- Second-degree assault: Attempting to kill or cause serious injury to a person while under the influence of sudden passion (the act was not pre-planned) or recklessly causing injury to another person. This is regarded as a Class D felony but can be upgraded to a class B if a “special victim” is involved. If convicted, the penalty can include a prison sentence of up to 7 years.
- Third-degree assault: Knowingly causing physical injury to another person. A class E felony, it can be upgraded to a Class D if a “special victim” is involved. If convicted, the penalty can include a prison sentence of up to 4 years.
- Fourth-degree assault: Deliberately causing a person to fear for their safety, knowingly touching a person in an offensive or provocative manner, or recklessly engaging with a person that puts them at risk of injury. This degree is regarded as a misdemeanor class A or C depending on the situation. Penalties can include up to a year in jail and a fine between $700 to $2000.
A “special victim” encompasses a wide range of individuals such as: a law enforcement officer, an elderly or disabled person, a mass transit employee, a vulnerable person, emergency personnel, and others defined under Missouri statute 565.001.
Assault Involving Children
While assault involving adults is a serious crime, when children are on the receiving end, the implications are even more severe. In most cases, assault or battery of a child is broadly defined as child abuse. The assault can be physical, emotional, or sexual in nature and in nearly every instance it is regarded as a felony. The State of Missouri will relentlessly prosecute you if you are accused of assaulting a child and your reputation could be ruined for life.
Because of the sensitivity around such an incident or accusation, it is a must to hire appropriate legal representation to defend you against the courts. Crafting a defense to fight back against accusations of assaulting a child takes time and effort so the sooner you reach out to us, the sooner we can dedicate our time, energy, and resources to clear your name.
What NOT to Do If Arrested for Assault
When a disagreement gets heated to the point of becoming or nearly turning physical and the authorities have to get involved, it’s in your best interest to keep your wits about you and not do something that will make you look bad.
If you find yourself unexpectedly arrested for suspicion of assault:
- Do NOT resist the arrest or get physical with law enforcement
- Do NOT retaliate either verbally, non-verbally, or otherwise retaliate against the accuser
- Do NOT try to talk things out with the accuser
- Do NOT approach or go near the accuser
Even with emotions high, your actions can come back to hurt you when trying to defend against an assault charge. Don’t put yourself in further jeopardy by making any impulsive moves. Remain calm and get in touch with an Ozark Mountain Attorney.
Are You Ready to Discuss Your Case?
Being convicted of a violent crime such as assault could greatly impact your future in a negative way. You could face time in jail or prison, heavy fines, and a criminal record that will follow you for the rest of your life holding you back from opportunities like employment, housing, and more. Take action now by getting a competent assault lawyer in Benson on your side.
At Ozark Mountain Attorney, we understand the severity of the situation you are in and have successfully negotiated positive outcomes for our clients. We know the law well and will do whatever it takes to build a strong defense for you and beat the charges. Through our resources, negotiations, and thorough legal work, we may be able to prove you acted in self-defense or were falsely accused.
Call us today at (417) 216-6563 to discuss your case with a Branson assault attorney.